Home General Discussion

What to charge for texturing / modelling?

I've been asked to work for a few months with a indie game, doing environmental modelling and texturing. I've mostly been active in the modding community for a some various games, and i've gained a little reputation that way. I have some minor experience with the gaming business (not payed work).

With this project I could for example use some of my previous work, sometimes with minor alterations, retexturing etc, some of which i've spent hundreds of hours with to get right. So i think it's hard when someone asks "what do you want per hour?"

What to charge for a fully textured tree, for example? It's an indie game so i'm not expecting to get rich or anything, and again, i've not worked as a professional 3D modeller. What could i charge per hour do you think?

Thanks.

Replies

• Alemja
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alemja hero character
    Here is a pretty recent thread on this that might help: http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=92013
  • Paul Pepera
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Paul Pepera polycounter lvl 9
    I was going to type out a response but EarthQuake pretty much covered what I was going to say in that thread Alemja linked. Though one thing not mentioned there is incorporating. To save yourself from the large amount of taxes you'd be paying the government as a self-employed individual you may want to consider working under an LLC. Not sure what country you live in but many states in the USA (like Texas) give large amount of tax breaks to corporations.
  • Artich0ke
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the replies and suggestions. I'm thinking of starting as a consultant, could be good to have a company, especially when buying new equipment or software, and ofcourse, for work too :)
  • JacqueChoi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JacqueChoi polycounter
    Charge them per hour.