Home Technical Talk

Vertex color and performance

I'm kinda new to the idea of using vertex colors to blend textures but it seems extreamly useful. From what I understand it can be applied in different ways like for instance painted in Maya etc (where all exported instances of that model will have the same vertex colors), or they can be painted in an editor like UDK (where every instance can have unique vertex colors).
So I'm wondering what the general approach is to add vertex color to game assets. Is it used extensively on most models or is it an expensive feature that should be used only when needed? I suppose it's cheaper to use static vertex colors than to add unique ones for every instance of a model, but how big is the difference?
I understand there are a lot of variables to take into consideration and that it's difficult to give exact answers without having specified details but I'm just looking for a general direction. Any pointers and input on the subject would be helpful:)

Replies

• Xoliul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14
    as far as I know the vertex color in itself is not expensive in UDK, I vaguely remember someone calling it "free" but I'm not sure fi that's the truth.
    A lot depends on what you do with it in the shader though.
  • Jeff Parrott
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jeff Parrott polycounter lvl 19
    Well instancing the vertex color on an object means you'll be instancing the object itself anyways. That depends on the engine. Vertex color (and vertex alpha most of the time) is not that expensive now days. I've worked on plenty of project on platforms that couldn't support lightmaps so vertex color (and vertex alpha) were only available. I know vertex alpha adds up. But vertex color even on lower end systems is not that huge of a deal (at least in my experience).