Home General Discussion

Normal Application Response Time

'Afternoon (where I am anyway)
I've just sent off a load of applications to all the UK studios that aren't a stupid distance from me (Midlands). Including Crytek, Rebellion, Eurocom, Frontier, Fireproof, etc...

I know I'm probably just prematurely concerned, but I have to wonder how long it usually takes for responses. This is my first time applying for anything other than an internship, and it would be fantastic if it worked out and I could finally leave 'education'.

Replies

• o2_is_alright
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I think it varies a lot depending on the studio. I can say from my own experience that I was happy if I got any response at all even if it was negative cause then you don't have to wait and keep your hopes up. Many studios will sent you an automatic reply saying they've recieved your application and that they will contact you within a certain amount of time IF they are interested otherwise they won't bother.
    The fastest response I've got was one day after I sent the application, the longest was about 3 months, so... yea.

But best of luck on your job hunt!
  • Ghostscape
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ghostscape polycounter lvl 13
    It varies a lot. I've had companies get in touch almost immediately, and I've had companies take a very long time. If you don't hear back within 2 weeks, it's a good idea to send a follow-up e-mail, ideally with something new in your portfolio that you can mention so they have reason to check your stuff again.
  • Bruno Afonseca
    I've had companies email me within one day, and had other ones calling me after 18 months. There's no rule for this, so don't get anxious. Your work is good enough for an industry position! Just keep improving on it and you'll be fine.
  • Kwramm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator