Home Technical Talk

Comparing Blender to 3DS Max and other packages

Hi, first I'd like to apologize if this has been covered already - because I have a suspicion it could be a popular question, but I couldn't find any relevant threads that answer it in more detail. I actually did find one or two threads but they were all from before Blender's 2.5 release so I'm not sure how relevant they are.

Anyway, I'm looking to get into 3D modeling as a hobby, and I've been learning Blender for about a month now. I'm curious if I'm missing anything of significant value by not using 3DS Max, Maya or another popular package - in other words, is Blender functional/streamlined enough to be worth learning in-depth? I'm a student so I can get the long-term trials of Autodesk's products if I chose to use them.

I'm mostly interested in rendering static scenes, though I may use it for game assets in the future as well. From what I understand, 3DS Max has better renderers available and more documentation as well - is there anything else of value it can offer me compared to Blender, or does it boil down to personal preference once you're experienced enough with any of the toolsets?

Replies

• passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    if your using it for just a hobby stick with blender, free and has everything you need, only real down side in functionality is no n-gons and some tools.

but if your trying to go into the industry, get max or maya, since they are industry standard tools, and any studio will expect you to have experience with 1 or the other.

blenders defualt renderer is kinda shitty like you said, but you could add luxrender, or cycles to it to get some nice scene rendering, and for game engines, blender does support fbx and dae export so that will easily get your content into UDK, Cryengine, or Unity, and there is a 3rd party smd exporter for working with the source engine.
  • Gestalt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message