Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

james burnett Portfolio

Click my signature for my website!

Replies

• BlvdNights
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BlvdNights polycounter lvl 8
    Looks good, but nothing that stands out. Your Davinci scene is cool but I couldn't tell from the thumbnail. You have that awesome sci fi pod looking thing in the middle that you should show off in the thumbnail, not some paperbook on the floor.
  • Swizzle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Swizzle polycounter lvl 15
    Admittedly, I'm no environment artist. However, I think I can still offer some critiques.

1. Your environments don't have any focal points. There's nothing for the eye to linger on; it's all just pieces put together into some sort of vignette with no focus. You have a sci-fi environment, but there are no fancy lights or space ships or futuristic towers or anything to look at.

This needs to change.

Give us something to focus our attention on. Guide the viewer's eye towards what you want them to look at.

2. Your lighting is, in general, pretty flat. There are no hot spots to make the textures pop a little. Give us some glancing angles, some rim lighting, some warm and cool contrasts, some nice cast shadows. These will help draw the eye. In addition, you need more ambient or bounced light because your scenes are all under-lit.

3. Your textures are muddy, but this is partially because they're under-lit. Even if you don't have a lot of blacks in your textures, it seems that way because your scenes are all quite dim.

4. Your scenes lack depth. This is partially because of the lighting (or lack thereof) and partially because it seems they're all in a vacuum. There's no atmosphere, no fog, no dust particles or light shafts, no bloom or depth of field. Give us some atmospheric perspective.

I'd like to offer critiques to your individual pieces, but they all seem to share the same problems, so global critiques are really what you need.