Home Technical Talk

TF2 - About Modeling.

Hello everyone.
This is my first time posting here, even though I use to come here a lot.
I'm pretty sure that what I'm going to ask you has been posted a thousand times yet, but I feel that I have to ask for your help right now.

As you may know, VALVe introduced a "Steam Workshop" for TF2 modeling, and me and a friend want to be part of it. We have a bunch of ideas, but we don't know how to model. I searched for TF2 modeling tutorials all over the Internet, to no avail.

That's why I want to ask you a few questions on how to model weapons and hat for TF2.
1- Which one is the best, Maya (Autodesk Maya 2012 x64) or Blender (2.59)? I'm not talking about the price here, just in terms of performance / ease of use.
2- How can I find tutorials mainly about TF2 modeling ? By that I mean, not focused on "how to model", but on "how to model for TF2".

According to Valve, here are the steps of modeling:
  1. Concept: Come up with a good idea in words. Trust us, this is the hardest part.
  2. Design: Draw in 2D or 3D what it will actually look like.
  3. Model: Using a 3D program, create the clean polygon model that will actually be in the game.
  4. Pelt: Unwrap the 3D model like a bearskin rug (UVs) so you can texture map it.
  5. Paint: Using your UVs as a guide, pick a color. Paint a color. Repeat.
  6. Skin: Bind the model to a joint for articulation.
  7. Compile: Use itemtest and don’t forget to make an LOD!
  8. Test: Load the itemtest map and look at your item on the character.
  9. Publish: Upload it to the steam workshop!

We could really use help on steps 3 to 8.

I'll edit this post alongside, and hopefully in a few months, we will be proud to be part of this community and present you some of our creations.
Thanks for listening !

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ash_Grey wrote: »