Home Technical Talk

New to polycount/Need help with poles!

Hey everyone :) I am new to polycount and I am currently in my second year at
University I am supposed to be modelling a character for animation but I am having issues with the amount of poles I have, I am requesting advice on how to get rid of them/if getting rid of them is necessary.
Also the head didn't actually take me that long to model so would like to know if remodelling the head would be quicker than fixing the problems.
Thanks in advance for any help. :)
[Edit] - I also would like to state that the character is not meant to be close to human realistic, more like pixar style.
helph.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Replies

• Psyk0
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Psyk0 polycounter lvl 18
    Even if you say this is Pixar style head, you should have strong anatomy knowledge behind it, the Pixar heads may have highly stylized forms and proportions, but are still rooted in human anatomy. Edgeloops exist to mimic a structure in 3d, in this case the human head, so what kind of mechanism deforms the human head?...muscles indeed!

For example:
    Your model is missing the nasolabialfold (it's just a fancy term for the crease on each sides of the nose) So if your character needs to make crazy nose deformation (or even a simple smile), there won't be any support for it. How do i know that? That's right, anatomy!

This should give you some pointers:

First, the gold mine that is the polycount wiki:
    http://wiki.polycount.com/FaceTopology?highlight=%28\bCategoryTopology\b%29

Then some step by step how-to
    http://www.3dtotal.com/ffa/tutorials/max/joanofarc/head1.php
    (don't follow it blindly, understand why you are doing it that way!)

Good vs. bad topology examples & more advanced topo but useful.
    http://www.phungdinhdung.org/Studies_paper/Realistic_face_modeling.shtm