Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Help me turn this model from Garbage to somthing presentable

I've been self taught for the most part of my 3d modeling life. Well I think that should come to an end. I can't make heads or tails of this model it just feels like garbage to me. I would love all the help I could get to make it nice.

Wires.jpgPillarUVW.jpg
refrenceShrine.jpg

Replies

• terrybuchan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    What is it supposed to be? Are you working from any reference? There looks to be alot of wasted space in that unwrap from what i can see.

Edit: oops, didn't see the reference at the bottom.
  • paulsvoboda
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    paulsvoboda polycounter lvl 12
    Well, for starters, if you are planning on building the whole shrine you still have quite a ways to go, and you haven't yet begun the fun parts. The model you have currently looks like the starts of a High Poly model which hasn't yet been sub-divided. There should be no reason for you to unwrap this as most of the detail you currently have in there should be projected onto a much lower poly model. There's a lot of stuff on the wiki for you to read about this process and the How you model dem Shapes thread by Earthquake is a fantastic place to read up on Sub-D modeling.

For this piece, it would be great to do a simple blockout of the entire shrine and try to break out the unique pieces you will need to build eg. The Door, the pillar you are currently building, a top wall section, a quarter of the dome, a window) and start building each of those pieces separately with as much detail as you can. Then you can process all that high detail down into low poly meshes which can then be used to assemble the rest of the shrine.