Home General Discussion

The Six Commandments of Contracting

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Jon Jones polycounter lvl 18
Hi guys! Long time no see. :) I still lurk, and wanted to come out of the shadows to post my first really big article since Your Portfolio Repels Jobs way back when. I'm really proud of it and was wondering what you guys thought.

[size=+2]The Six Commandments of Contracting [/size]

Permalink: http://www.jonjones.com/2011/10/10/the-six-commandments-of-contracting/

I’ve been dealing with contract art for nearly fifteen years, and have been a full-time professional for over ten years. I’ve worked both as an artist and as a manager in a variety of settings. As an artist I’ve freelanced from home, in-house at an art studio, and in-house at a developer. As a manager, I’ve outsourced art at an art studio with internal and external artists, outsourced and managed entire art teams in-house at a developer, and now I’m a freelance art producer managing teams all across the world. And boy are my arms tired!

Suffice it to say, I’ve been through just about every contract art management position and relationship you can imagine. I’ve come to identify several habits and character traits that make me love working with certain contractors, and on the other side of that coin, I’ve identified a few that drive me up the wall thus ensuring that I will never work with them again. I feel the term “Dos and Don’ts” is cliched, and “Commit these acts at your own peril” is too Temple of Doom, so instead I’ll present Professional vs Amateur with relevant Manager Insights many may not realize.