Home Technical Talk

Understanding subdivision modeling primer paper

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
danjohncox polycounter lvl 7
Hey guys, I'm a college instructor teaching folks about environmental modeling. One of the typically confusing subjects ends up being subdiv modeling. I'm putting together a subdiv paper, to help students and any newbie understand maybe, some of the basic rules they should pay attention to. This is my initial stab at it. Please give me your thoughts, I'd like to make sure this is robust and helpful for many people. Feel free to suggest example images too!

Unfortunately I can only show it properly as a google doc. Lemme know if that works for you guys.

https://docs.google.com/document/pub?id=155E77C5nJzkppXyGOQ3PoZAkLQf43QCyUJZa4_kCANM

Replies

• Xoliul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14
    Seems decent, but only touching the very basics. There's more difficult things to SubD, like understanding the flow of a surface and translating that to a wireframe. I wrote a document on that, I'll see if i can share it when i get home. It's mostly aimed at cars since these are the most difficult situations but it'll help you with everything if you start to understand it.
  • cryrid
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    One thing I would suggest, is to use a more generic term like "sub-division" instead of "turbosmooth" as that is just a max specific modifier(and even then, only one of multiple methods in max to do sub-d).
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The simplest way to look at turbosmooth modeling is to understand that; the fewer edges you have, the more curved your model will be; the more edges you have, the more hard lines you'll get in your model.
    This could be explained a lot better, often times to keep a round shape with details, you need more edges. So less edges = smoother isn't really something I would say is a generic rule to follow.