Home General Discussion

Leap of Faith in finding job opportunity

I've been a graduate from college now for almost 2 years with a Computer Animation degree. I've been steadily increasing my knowledge and skills in 3D modeling, texturing, and sculpting since graduation. Not many job opportunities here in Florida as opposed to LA or maybe NY. Visited LA a month ago would definitely live there given a job opportunity...is moving out to LA my next step before given an job? My primary goal is to work for a Game Studio. Would love the opportunity to shadow artists at a studio, unfortunately you're not allowed to follow the Disney characters around the Theme Park all day...who made that rule up?! lol

Thanks

Here's my portfolio site if you'd like to check it out: www.cheynecg.wordpress.com

Let me know what you think!

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    Portfolio first!!
  • greevar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    greevar polycounter lvl 6
    Honestly, your portfolio just isn't very strong. You have very little there to compel anyone to give you an interview. You need more pieces and they need to be outstanding. Yours are just not that eye grabbing. I'd lose the demo reel, it's not helping you. Your environment work doesn't exhibit any real time examples. Do some UDK environments if you want to get some attention. Your portfolio site in general is probably scaring away a lot of prospects too. It's unpleasant to navigate and unfocused. Your portfolio is not a blog and your blog is not a portfolio. A portfolio is meant to do one thing, get you an interview and hopefully a job.