Home Technical Talk

Maya probleme with pivots

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
rorozilla polycounter lvl 6
hi!

i'm new at using Maya and i have encountered this issue trying to make a little rigg to animate my characters hair.

i set up a curve as a controller and i linked every strand of hair to the rotations of the curve. the wierd thing is, my Y axis is facing up on my curve, but sideways for my strands of hair. it makes it impossible to animate correctly.

i tried freeze transform on both the hair and the curve but nothing changes.

i thought of a solution, i could link the curves X axis to the hairs Y axis, and so on, so that they all match, but i would really like to know the reason why i cant change the axis, it seams like it could cause problems later.

pivot%20probleme.jpg

thank you so much!

Replies

• couette
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    How are you linking the hair object to the controller object? Direct transform connections, expressions, constraints, or something else? Is the hair object a child of another object that is not aligned to world space?
  • rorozilla
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    all of the hair is parented to my head bone, but i made sur it wasn't skinned to it, and all my object (geometry and bones) in my scene seam to have there axies fliped like the strands of hair, except for the control curves i place ( one for the hair, and the other one for the whole character)

i don't know if this answers your question, im all new to maya, but i know max pretty well, so i keep trying to apply the basics of max to maya, and that doesn't always work!

thank you so much for helping me! if it is any easier, i can send you my scene so you can check it out, it might be messy though!

:)
  • MiAlx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MiAlx polycounter lvl 10
    Hey rorozilla!

Try the following out (sorry if i didnt understand the problem :D):