Home Technical Talk

Pixelated Texture issues?

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
DrunkShaman polycounter lvl 14
Greetings guys;

I am having an odd issue related to baking the texture from hi to lo. No matter what, I end up with results like this:

WE0cm.jpg

The goal is:

9K6VH.jpg

I am kinda new to how this thing works but these maps are 2048/2048 Edge padding 16, bucket size is 512 and antialiasing is 1x (using xnormal here.)

I know this is kinda noob to ask, but shouldnt 2k map cover indepth detail especially when you are making maps for every piece separately? Should I resize the map or split the face apart and extend it to have it cover more detail (which would leave a tarrible seam).

The reason I squeezed the UVs little to the side is because I have other stuff to texture out.

Original Finished:
bFdF1.jpg

So this much I have to map out.

Anyways; if anyone had this issue in the past when he was starting out and uses blender and xnormal please do share his/her method to resolve this.

Thanks. :)

EDIT: wow, its not even close to what its remotely suppose to be. >.< I dont know what happened to the nose. :(

Replies

• MeintevdS
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MeintevdS keyframe
    How much UV space did you give he face on your unwrap? If the texture is 2048x2048 but you only assign 32x32 for the face than it's still going to be pixelated. Most of the time people give a bit extra resolution to the face, because this is the part of a person people focus on the most. Make sure you don't go over the top with the amount of extra resolution though, you want to try and keep the pixel density the same as much as possible.
  • DrunkShaman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So, in other words, I should create the face and hair UVs separately? and scale it high enough so that the details not so pixelated?
  • gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message