Home General Discussion

The Roles of a Level Designer?

Hey guys,

I have a serious question that I need answering. So I'm a 3rd year student in a Game Development program and I am looking to be a level designer once I'm out of school. I am currently brainstorming for my final BIG project, and am getting a little lost. I thought it would be best if I just came here and asked the professionals.

I have a bunch of ideas floating around, but when ever I look up how I would go about doing these things I keep finding people that say I would need to program it and then another group will claim I can use kismet. I need to a solid definition of what needs programming and what needs kismet. For my final project I was thinking of making a custom vehicle in UDK and then designing a really cool race track for it (like F-Zero). After some research I can safely say that the custom vehicle will need to be programmed. Another one of my ideas was to make some slightly more intelligent AI, that would take cover when taken to much damage and what not. Once again I'm getting mixed reviews.

I watched a video that made it seem like I could kismet the AI to do that, but then other people say that you have to program it.

I am not the best programmer in the world.....

In fact I know very little about the subject, which leads me to my next question. I would really like to know where the line is drawn. How much do level designers script in kismet, and how much do they actually code? My definition of a level designer from what iv seen on job postings and what not, is someone that can lay out creative and fun levels for the player to move through. The designer must also have scripting skills (not sure if that's programming or kismet), in order to create fun situations (encounters, puzzles, ext) for the player to enjoy.

I really need help and would love is a level designer could reply to this and give me a solid definition as to what they do during day to day work (and as a whole).