Home General Discussion

Some questions about freelancing

admin
Offline / Send Message
System admin
Hey guys,

I'm hoping some of you with experience freelancing can offer some tips/advice with regards to some questions I've got.

I'm not new to freelancing, but I'm very new to the games industry... as in, I've never worked in it.

I've freelanced in Arch-Vis a few years back, and I now do it full time as an employee so handling a self-scheduled workload, and the administration of the behind the scenes stuff isn't completely new to me, but I'm curious as to freelancing in games.

Here's where I'm at. I love the prospect of working in games, my game art isn't quite there yet, but I may work on changing that if it seems like a sensible route to explore. What I don't love is the potential for office crunch. Right now, I have a fiancee, I'm almost 27, and we've lived together for the past 6 years. Who knows when we'll have kids but it probably won't be too long. She works a standard 9-5 and at the moment, so do I, more-or-less. We like to spend the evenings/weekends together, sure I'm sometimes on the computer working or whatever, but I'm 'there'.

I don't think I'm really up for staying at the office til late, or staying there all weekend, I understand it's necessary at times in the development cycle, and I know plenty of people do it, enjoy it, see it as part of the job etc, but it's really not for me.

I'm happy to work long hours, but in my home office... which is why I'm keen on the idea of freelancing.

So my questions are;

Can someone with no industry experience still get freelance work with big name developers who outsource? I guess what I'm saying is, can freelance be a case of 'If you're awesome, you'll get work, we don't care how many titles you've shipped'?

And also, is there adequate work for a freelance environment guy (again, if you're awesome enough), to pay a full salary in games? Environment/prop work is my fort

Replies

• System
    Options