Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Games Character Development

Feb
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Feb polycounter lvl 10
Hello!!

I'm fairly new to polycount so I hope I'm posting in the right place!

I thought it would be great to try and get some feedback on a current project I'm working on -

I'm trying to develop my skills as a character artist, and so I'm working on a project that allows me to try out the entire character creation process (concept, modelling, rigging, and animating,) though this is my first attempt at a more realistic character.

I'm currently working on the character's textures, though this is still in the very early stages... Though I'm struggling a bit to find a decent way to create low-poly hair, does anyone have any advice? I've tried using opacity maps though they're not quite hitting the spot!!

Any feedback would be really appreciated!! :)

Thanks

:)

Character_Final.jpg
schematic_Wider.jpg
Hi-PolySculpt.jpg
19.jpg
28-facetest.jpg

Replies

• Snader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15
    She's about 9 heads tall, is this intentional? Generally you want to aim for 6.5~7. The neck is also awfully thin.
  • Alberto Rdrgz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alberto Rdrgz polycounter lvl 9
    It's usually about 8 heads. and I think you should squash her mid section a bit, it looks like it's getting stretched. Especially in the area right above her navel and under boobs. like the textures tho man! great job on those i think if you make those corrections it'll look even better!
  • Feb
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Feb polycounter lvl 10
    Hey Snader and Alberto Rdrgz - thanks for your comments!