Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Newbie pieces

hamzaaa
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
hamzaaa polycounter lvl 11
Hi everyone,

as you can see from my post sum, I am kinda new to this forum. I am also kinda new to the 3D modeling scene and I wanted to share my first ever model with you to get some critiques. Don't hold back, I can take it :)

Here is the reference I am using:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/a0/Registrierkasse_Anker_20er-Jahre.gif

http://www.requisitenreindl.de/images/registrierkasse_big_1.jpg

You may notice that I am not sticking to my reference perfectly. The images below are the high poly model. I am planning to bake this to a low poly. I also want to add those nice ornaments from reference picture2 (propably via Photoshop because I am not experienced with scultping at all) and texture this thing.
I do all this just for learning purpose because I am pretty newbie ^^

preview_viewport01.jpg
preview_viewport02.jpg
preview_viewport03.jpg
preview_viewport04.jpg
preview_viewport_wires.jpg

thanks for reading!

Replies

• hamzaaa
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Some update. Sorry for the crappy previous renders ^^

cashbox_prev01.jpg
    cashbox_prev02.jpg
  • Twister3
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Twister3 polycounter lvl 12
    That is a nice looking register!

One thing I'd probably change is the size of the buttons. You can see in your reference that the buttons almost touch each other.
    The other thing is the lock on the bottom. In your reference its actually built into the wooden panel but in your model it is sticking out.

Are you going to model the display as well or are you going to leave it as a big hole?
    Do you have any plans to bake and texture it? I'm sure it would look cool with all that shiny material!

Oh and welcome to the 3D modeling scene! :)
  • hamzaaa
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey,