Home Technical Talk

From Max to Maya--Need Some Advice

Replies

• CandyStripes05
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CandyStripes05 polycounter lvl 9
    for symmetry you could always go to Edit>Duplicate Special Options, and dup half your model in the axis you need, and continue your work on one half and have it update in real time on the other (similar to zbrush's "x" symmetry hotkey)

but im not a user of max so maybe its modifier does something completely different, if so sorry cant help ya out

and for the quick smooth question, you can always select the mesh go to Mesh>Smooth Options, and adjust the division levels there
  • SeanO'Connor
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    To answer your question, at the core : not worth it.

I have been using Max in a studio environment for 6 years (+ hobby time before that), and Maya for a bit more than 4 years now (picked it up on a job, so no previous experience on that one). Maya seems to be a better platform for tool development (in theory) but at the end of the day, Max has just more fluid features for pretty much everything. And it is especially true in your case - as an experienced user, you most likely customized it to your likings already.

BTW, I agree with you on the direction max is taking. Because of that I am still using 2009 and I think this is the best version of it, by far.

You will most likely find some cool stuff in Maya, some interesting 3rd party tools too - but if you are not a Maya fanboy, and thoroughly know Max already, I don't see the point of switching. Now if you were aiming at animation work, it could be worth it ; but from a pure modeling standpoint, my advice would be to just stick to max and get some cool work done!

Good luck!
  • SeanO'Connor
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter