Home Technical Talk

Max 2012 weird viewport shading

hamzaaa
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
hamzaaa polycounter lvl 11
Hello folks,

I recently downloaded Max 2012 student license and I got a weird problem. Sorry I am a newb and I don't know how to get around (yet) ^^
In my viewport I get weird shading when I am using meshsmooth. I think my geometry is okay, but the smoothings is weird anyways... Maybe you can help me out!

I attached my geometry with meshsmooth on and the mesh without meshsmooth (yes it's the cube from andrei313's normalmap tutorial ^^)

1%20(1).jpg
1%20(2).jpg

**Edit:

Some more weird stuff 2012 brings up.. I can't see my 0-1 box..
uv.JPG

Thanks!

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Probably a video driver issue. What kind of video card do you have and when was the last time you updated the video drivers?

In 2012 they upgraded the viewport display driver and it defaults to "Nitrous" which older cards and non-workstation cards seem to have trouble with.

If updated the video drivers doesn't solve the issue or you have some semi-questionable hardware you can try reverting back to the old standard display driver.

Customize > Preferences > Viewports Tab > Choose Driver
  • hamzaaa
    Offline / Send Message
    Well I don't doubt that my hardware is semi-questionable because I am currently working on my notebook ;)

It has a NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT. I will try out the drivers update and I hope it will work ^^
  • Silix
    hamzaaa wrote: »
    Well I don't doubt that my hardware is semi-questionable because I am currently working on my notebook ;)

It has a NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT. I will try out the drivers update and I hope it will work ^^

i run max 2012 32-bit with nitrous fine on my laptop and i have a hp dv6885se, has a nvidia 8400m gs, i even turn on hardware rendering and blast the AO and shadow settings sometimes for funsies to check out my model.

-update drivers
    -update max to sp1