Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First Post

Hello there Polycount, for a long time I have stalked these forums, I have just recently begun diving into the world of 3D art, started in October. I'm looking to progress my skills as a 3D artist and possibly make a career out of it in the future sometime. Well, I see the norm for the first post is to throw some sort of WIP on here so heres a little model i'm currently working on.

busterswordfront.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

busterswordleft.jpg

busterswordright.jpg

busterswordwire.jpg

busterswordwire2.jpg

I'm still learning as im going. As of right now i think that im going to have to remodel the blade or the guard, since I modeled everything in pieces and it doesn't seem to be working out too well, and I messed up a couple areas. But the biggest problems i'm having as of this moment is figuring out how to model the design on the guard, and the design on the blade. Im using Maya 2011, if thats any help, and the renders are with Mental Ray.

Heres my main reference for this model, as of right now it may look a little different but I added in Materia where there should just be holes.

busterswordbywenjr.jpg

Replies

• Permafrost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    started re modeling the guard piece, C&C is very welcome as it can only help me get better. Any body know the best way to go about doing the design on it. Should I model it a second piece or should I attempt to make add in the edges and model it as one piece?

guardh.jpg

• P442
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    P442 polycounter lvl 8