Home General Discussion

Do i need an artist's permission??

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
n8lugo polycounter lvl 10
Hello everyone,

I was just wondering if anyone knows the answer to my question. If i want to model some concept art that ive found on a site like Deviantart or someones portfolio on the internet, do i need that artist's permission to use their art as ref?? I would only be using it for practice obviously and possibly use in my own portfolio. I was just curious because i dont want to step on any other artist's toes and definitely dont want to go breaking any laws. Thanks!!

Replies

• Talbot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I would say it couldn't hurt. Also you should probably give credit. I know that if I was a concept artist I honestly would think it was cool that someone was modeling a concept tof mine, and I would want to see it. So maybe shoot them an email when you are done.

If you aren't making money I don't think you technically need their permission.
  • PredatorGSR
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PredatorGSR polycounter lvl 14
    There are different opinions on this, but personally if its only for a personal portfolio I don't think it is necessary. It is always nice to ask though, and if the final product looks anything near the concept you should credit the artist for the design.

Once you want to use it in any public way like a mod or a competition or anything like that, you definitely need to get permission.
  • greevar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    greevar polycounter lvl 6
    I find it rather telling of the current climate that you have to ask, but you don't need permission to practice modeling from concepts created by others. You should be fine using concepts for learning. It's covered under fair use.
  • Saman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Saman polycounter lvl 13