Home General Discussion

Approaching the 3D World

hamzaaa
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
hamzaaa polycounter lvl 11
Hello everyone,

my name ist Björn (sorry it's hard to pronounce), I am 22 years old and I live in Germany. Recently I graduated from University as Bachelor. I did a course called "Digital Media: Animation & Games". In this course we got taught all the basics related to Animation and Games. Unfortunately I wasn't sure to specialize on something like modelling, animation or stuff like that, but that's what I wanna do now.
My passion lays within Computergames and 3D modelling, so my preferred path would obviously be modelling for computergames. During studies I got first experience on modelling but mostly for short animation movies.

My questions to you guys would be:

1. How and where to start learning modelling for computergames? (Tutorials, resources..?)
2. Do I need to have traditional Art skills to become a 3D modeller?
3. What are the best steps I can do next? (Learning by doing, theory work, internship..?)
4. Are there any independent remote projects where I can gain experience?
5. Is there any good literature regarding 3D modelling (for games?)
6. What else do I need to know apart from modelling?

I know many questions but for me as a newbie I have to ask question no matter what!
Also have a little gallery of my first ever made 3D models. Those weren't game models, those were made for an animated short.
Link: http://www.dropbox.com/gallery/3601726/2/3D/corner%20shop?h=f180a2
Comments and critiques are demanded

Thank you for your time and patience!!

Greets
Björn aka hamzaaa

Replies

• achmedthesnake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    achmedthesnake polycounter lvl 17
    hey hamzaa -

a bachelor heyy? bow chica wow wow

ahem.

look at the polycount wiki for tips, tricks and advice..
    practice practice and post art.