Home General Discussion

How you got into the games industry

Seraph
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Seraph polycounter lvl 8
Chatted with some friends today at Red Storm (North Carolina) about how they got into the industry. It led to some fun discussions, so, I thought why not make a thread about it? Simple poll, let's see if I can figure this out:

Replies

• skankerzero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    some school and taught myself and applied.
  • Seraph
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Seraph polycounter lvl 8
    Ok I think that worked, just a thought on this: I'm sure there's more than one way, but I'm quite curious. I got in via schooling, going to a 4 year university and taking AnimationMentor. But Long before that I created mods, hung out here way too much and was apart of that Quake/Unreal generation (what I need a 3D Card?!?) So in some ways, you could argue self taught too.

Anyways, lets try to limit it down to the things you did to get your first job, which I'll say was schooling for me. As a side note, my nephews are interested in the biz so I'm trying to gauge what school does offer people. Honestly I learned little that a 4-year university could offer me directly. Although indirectly (inspiration, broader knowledge, experience) I think I've been able to excel. That being said, they're aiming for Full Sail. I'm curious what Full Sail, Digipen and other people have to say about getting in.

Have fun with this!
  • RexM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I can't say I'm in the industry, but I have taught myself and have gotten call backs and emails from various companies' interested in my work.

I was recently contacted by a hiring agency that asked if I was interested in some game jobs, so they submitted me for three jobs available for that one company.

I know I'll eventually get something, it'll just take time.