Home General Discussion

Gaming/music headsets?

ngon master
Offline / Send Message
ZacD ngon master
I'm trying to find a decent gaming headset with a mic and decent audio that isn't going to break after 2 months of normal use, oh yeah, and comfortable! I know some of you guys use them, what do you recommend?

Replies

• nwallen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    As far as decent sound for a decent price and lasting a while I've been using a Sennheiser pc151 on trips for about 5 years now and it still has great sound, hasn't broken and has a good mic. They also feel very solid which I like as a plus because a lot of other brands' headsets feel kind of cheap and the plastic they use cracks easily.

They run around $50 but if you can find a deal you can get them for around $30. Note: They are sometimes hard to find.

The pc161's are much easier to find but run much more expensive. The benefit of them is that they have an open driver and so their sound is much better - but at the drawback of everyone around you hearing what you're hearing.

In general I'd recommend staying away from Logitech or the more 'common' brands. You can get some very good sounding ones, but in my experience they've been pretty hit or miss as far as not breaking/lasting a while. Their more expensive models work nicely though.

You also may find it worthwhile to invest in a USB -> 3.5mm converter (they can run as cheap as $10 or so and as expensive as $150+) to save your 3.5mm sockets' lifespan.

In general USB headsets will cost $80+ and I haven't found their sound quality to really match up to the cost increase.

I guess it really depends on your price range.
  • kaptainkernals
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kaptainkernals polycounter lvl 12