Home Technical Talk

I need some advice: Switching modeling programs

Howdy I'm new to Polycount and I'm in need of some advice. I'm 15 right now and seeking to become skilled at modelling & animation, right now I'm using Lightwave 9.6 to do everything because it's the program my teacher taught my class with. during the class I've had a sneaking suspicion that light wave was not a very popular program. now that I'm on summer break I've been looking to get better and I find looking for Lightwave tutorials is very tedious. all of the tutorials I find either link to a broken geocities site, a 404, or are just for an out dated version of the program. So I'm wondering should I ditch Lightwave and start learning a more popular program like Autodesk, Maya, XSI, or even Blender.

if anyone could give me some help I'd greatly appreciate it, thanks.

Replies

• LMP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LMP polycounter lvl 13
    3ds Max and Maya are the Standard Programs.

Advice for switching, model a simple object in your original program, then model it again in the new program. And, repeat until you are as fast in both programs.
  • passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    3ds max is the most popular, and most studio want people to know Max or Maya, some people prefer one over the other for there type of work or workflow.

and tutorials it really doesn't matter if a tut is for your app, the skills can be used across the board.

also lightwave is by no means a bad modler it just kinda fills a niche market, along side other apps like silo, modo, wing3d etc.
  • Bopoe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @passerby
    which niche does Lightwave fill?
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message