Home General Discussion

3D Art - Whats your story?

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Bombshell polycounter lvl 10
I'm fairly new to the forums and all my topics have been about me and getting myself into a more professional work flow.
But looking around the forum there seems to be a lot of interesting things going on, I've caught glimpses of people talking about how they learned, how they got deals and jobs, etc.

EDIT: I forgot to put up my 'story'
I've been interested in game development since I was 8, mostly inspired by PS1 games like Spyro, Crash bandicoot, etc. I started learning the basics to making 2D games about 10 and was making crappy pac-man clones by 12. Then I slowly got into making 3D games, started paying more attention in maths, getting physics calculations from my science teachers, trying to put them to work in my games. Its only int he past 2 years that I've been learning how to make current gen 3D games, I'm only now taking 3D Modelling seriously, I used to make hideous topo-screw ups and think "I'm amazing!" when I started looking for guides on animating and texturing I came across this forum, and so its only very recently that I have been trying to get on a professional level with 3D modelling.

So I've been wondering, and spare no details if you have the effort to type it.
Whats your story?
How did you get into 3D art / game development / design?
What were you doing before?

Looking forwards to reading,
Bombshell

Replies

• DarkStar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message