Home Technical Talk

Where Should I Start?

Hey everyone, I'm new to the Polycount forums, so I figured this would be the best place to post my first thread.

To say that I am an amateur would be the understatement of the century. I'm interested in learning about 3D modeling, but my only experience is some basic 2D work in flash and GameMaker (mostly the latter.) I've done some modeling work in Google SketchUp, and I recently downloaded Blender.

My real question is this: as a complete amateur, where is the best place for me to start? Anything you guys could come up with would be appreciate--other forums, online or written tutorials, video series, one on one work, etc.

Cheers,

IAmTheClayman

Replies

• Xer0
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    3d Total has some good tutorials. Unfortunatly nothing for Blender (from what I can see.) http://www.3dtotal.com/

If you are a student, Autodesk is giving students a free 3 year license with a valid school e-mail address for pretty much any program. http://students.autodesk.com/

Cgtuts+ has alot of good tutorials as well, including Blender. http://cg.tutsplus.com/

Also seems the Blender Website has some good tutorials for getting started. http://www.blender.org/education-help/tutorials/
  • Ben Apuna
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It sort of depends on what your end goals are, there really isn't a "bad" place to start modeling. The best thing you can do is just get started making something, everything comes through the experience.

Though I suppose you need to learn the tools first, Blender hmm...

There's Blender Cookie, 3D Buzz, and ralusek's Blender 2.5 Crash Course (Not For Retards).

The wiki here on Polycount is also VERY good source of information:

Environment Modeling

Character Modeling

Have fun :)
  • mortalhuman
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message