Home General Discussion

Absolute beginner seeks advice

Just stumbled onto polycount, and it took me maybe a minute to realize this was a good place to ask some talented people how to do what I want to: make high quality assets for video games (models, textures, animations). I am aware this is a many-year-long goal.

I'm a 24 year old teacher and my background is in math/education/computer science. The problem is that I have zero artistic experience or training, and very little skill.

I recently spent a couple hours working from a 'how to draw' book with pencil. Most notably I did a 5 second sketch exercise several dozen times, but was still having problems with consistency. I also don't think the book was very good, but it did teach me a few things.

So how do I go about undoing two decades of neglecting the right lobe of my brain? I can devote a minimum of 5 hours a week, and a maximum of maybe 12.

Thank you for your time.

Replies

• AllyW
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm in a very similar position - I was just about to post a topic looking for similar advice, but I thought I'd add my questions here instead. I would greatly appreciate some honest advice and opinions, even if it be discouraging.

I'd likewise put myself into the "absolute beginner" category, with a background in computer science.

I know there's a lot of talent and experience around here, so I was wondering how viable you all thought a career in digital art (whether it be game-related or not) could be. How possible would it be to survive as a freelance artist of some kind? Or is working for an established studio the only option? Or is digital art something that you do only in addition to your main "day job"?

I would be happy to work insanely hard to get a job doing something that I loved, but it can be very discouraging wondering if it's possible at all.