Home Technical Talk

modeling/texturing LARGE scale environments for UDK

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
n8lugo polycounter lvl 10
Hello everyone,
Im still fairly new to designing levels for UDK. I have modeled/textured/build small scale interior levels in UDK before but i want to try something new here with much LARGER scale for a class assignment. It is a large Cathedral-like space ship built on the hand of a giant.

show1.jpg?w=b42efcdc

show3.jpg?w=4c392f4b

show.jpg?w=2b28dc83

I am wondering how i should break this down for texturing, and what the poly limit for the assets should be. I have a break down of the indivitual modular assets i plan on using in UDK and building the scene here by instancing them. I mean, is this even possible?? And am i approaching it the right way??

https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/show4.jpg?w=94362c2a

Also, the little cube you see by the bottom of the arch is for scale comparison as it is the default UU measurement for a player model in UDK. So um..... This place is BIG.

show5.jpg?w=d14ffba4

Any suggestions, crits, comments, help would be awesome. For now i am simply trying to build a scene in UDK for a still render for a class using the composition like in the 3rd image. The ship will be floating in space with surrounding by nebulous clouds and some other spacey assets floating around the environment. Ultimately though, the long path you see there will lead in to an entire level. Its kind of vague, and i have no ideal if it makes any sense, but again any help on how i should approach this project is MUCH appreciated!!.

Replies

• sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    I'd try making it quickly in some placeholder meshes. You say you have modularity planned so make the pieces you want really roughly to see if it works out well.
  • iconoplast
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    iconoplast polycounter lvl 13