Home Technical Talk

Are Floating Edges Bad in-game?

polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
TorQue[MoD] polycounter lvl 19
Hey all.

Got a bit of a technical question for you... when it comes to modeling world geometry, are "floating edges" a bad thing? IE edges that aren't connected back down into nearby verts like the two in this image:

floating_edges.jpg

I can understand on a mesh that's going to be deforming a lot like a character this would cause weird problems when the edges collapse, but on world models like chairs, tables etc. that aren't really going to be deforming is there really an issue?

Would there possible be any technical issues such as lighting that could come up because of this? Its my first time working on a retail project and I want to make sure I'm doing things properly.

Thanks!

Replies

• sprunghunt
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    As long as the triangulated mesh looks fine then it's probably ok. You can get issues with open edges sometimes. Does this cause an open edge?
  • Tavor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tavor polycounter lvl 8
    Going off what sprunghunt said, no there are no issues per say, but why wait until something goes wrong to fix it? If something goes wrong down the line, you won't know whether this was the issue or something else was. Its a quick fix, so why not just clean the mesh up and not have to worry about it?
  • TorQue[MoD]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    No open edges, I just split the back face of the mesh cause I wanted to bevel out that rectangle for detail and didn't want to have to fidget with lining up a separate piece.