Home Technical Talk

[MAX] Middle seam closing.

polycounter lvl 16
Offline / Send Message
BeatKitano polycounter lvl 16
First, don't worry I don't plan to make a thread about my maxscripts needs everyday :)

Now, I was working with a small model today and wanted to know if there was a way in maxscript to shut mirror center seam ?

I'm using align to x to make sure my selection is alright, and want to move it to x=0 (without changing the yz position).
The align thing is no brainer, but I can't get my head around making my selection move to x=0 without changing the other positions.

move command is expecting a "x y z" argument while I can only provide x.

Is there a way to do that ?

Thank you in advance.

Replies

• BeatKitano
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ok, I got it, I looked at this script and copied the part I wanted.

Thanks to the author, I'm a noob with maxscript I would never have found it otherwise.
  • r_fletch_r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    r_fletch_r polycounter lvl 9
    you need to go a bit lower level for this i think. polyOps are called for :)
    aSelectedVerts = (polyop.getVertSelection $) as array
    nSelectedVerts = aSelectedVerts.count

for i = 1 to nSelectedVerts do
    (
    	vertPosition = polyop.getVert $ aSelectedVerts[i]
    	vertPosition.x = 0.0
    	polyop.setVert $ aSelectedVerts[i] vertPosition

)

edit - beaten to it. Oh well :)
  • BeatKitano
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you it's still a good thing you answered I will look at your code and try to understand it, copy pasting stuff is not the way to go. I prefer yours since it's only doing what I want so I can understand it better.
  • r_fletch_r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    get an array of the currently selected vertices, polyop ops dont return arrays for this sort of thing, they return whats called a bitArray. because of this we use 'as array' to convert it into an array.