Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Newbie here.

I'm new to modeling and I want to learn how to model for video games.

Here's my first attempt at a female character. I still have the chest and head to work on.

Sj1zu.jpg

Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. : )

Replies

• sketch81
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey topher, nice start, but I think her cheeks need some loving....Study some reference and refine the buttock area, right now it's not defined and looks a little sqaushed. What platform are you developing the character for?
  • topher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I will definitely look into the cheeks. No platform in particular, I just want to get good at modeling low/med poly models.
  • Shogun3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shogun3d polycounter lvl 12
    topher wrote: »
    I will definitely look into the cheeks. No platform in particular, I just want to get good at modeling low/med poly models.

Be sure to stay in quads as much as possible so you have a good basis for mesh smoothing.
  • BenStrasser
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    To add to Kaburan, this is especially important in the joint areas for deformation.
  • beta_channel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    beta_channel polycounter lvl 7
    You should shoot for a platform so you have a set of rules to follow. Tri count. Texture size. Etc.
    IPhone
    DS
    PSP
    NGP
    ps2
    Etc.
  • Urser
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    To add to Kaburan, this is especially important in the joint areas for deformation.