Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

war of hte worlds eque environment looking for feed back.

Hi there everyone this is my first post here on poly count. I am pretty new to 3d art in general and am starting to get work together to hopefully get a reel out there and a job soon. this is my second environment that is planned for my reel and it is still a few weeks away from being ready to render.

My first environment was less than a success as far as reel work is concerned so I am hoping to get more constructive feed back earlier on this on and make it look great.

My mentor at school has me making the bulk of the model with game type poly counts and textures as well as texture sizes, but I am going a little bit poly heavy in a few areas just to kick up the areas that are going to be really close to the camera on the final pass.

Concept: (concept by [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]czarnyrobert[/FONT])

1289843473931.jpg

polyflow and layout for textures:
geoffs_buildings_devided_for_textures.jpg

some of the poly flow has been optimized since I took that cap and a few things have been remodeled. such as the upper dome roof as you will see below.

layout_with textures:
Untitled-3.jpg

at this point the places that still held to many polys on the building have been optimized and most things that needed rebuilding on the main two building have been. apart from the text and the awnings which both need conciderable work.

quick_cap_layout.jpg

same as above but rendered with really quick lighting.

cap_08.jpg

capture of the main building to see textures.

awnign_1.jpg

the back awning after being remodeled. I have also remodeled the front awnings but the textures on them I am not as happy with.