Home Technical Talk

quick 3DS Max question

hello everyone im new to polycount, but i have a quick question. I now know how to model fairly well, and uv-unwrap. and now i'm wondering what the next step is?

it's learning normal maps, right?

i'm a bit lost with the amount there is to learn when becoming a 3d artist :P

so if there is anyone that could help me it would be MUCH appreciated.
Thanks
8)

Replies

• Danielmn
  • Artifice
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The next step is really learning how to texture, a texture being a 2D map applied to your model via you UVs. Normals are a kind of map, along with diffuse (color), specular (shininess) and more. Normals tell your engine or shader what direction the light is approaching a specific point (vertex) on your model. In practice, it's a way of tricking the shader into showing more detail on your model than you actually have geometry. Modeling for and baking good normal maps certainly is a critical part of understanding the modern modeling/texturing process.

As far as general texturing goes, it's just the reverse of UVing your model. You took a 3D model and 'peeled' it flat into a 2D image. Then you paint (usually in Photoshop) on that flat image, and 'rewrap' your model by applying the texture, now with whatever you painted. Play around with painting some maps and applying them, it's pretty intuitive once you start messing with it.

There're lots of tutorials out there to get you going on normal mapping. Start with Ben Mathis's first. It's an oldie but a goodie, and the one that many here have cut their teeth on. It's also an excellent explanation of what's going on under the hood, which is something you need to understand if you want to really be effective. After that, check http://wiki.polycount.com/NormalMap and The Normal Mapping Thread in the Archives for more information. Most of all, keep at it. It's not easy or intuitive, but once you get it, you'll get it.
  • longhornfan25
  • mortalhuman