Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

New to the forum, so...one of my first posts

5412611914Hello, I'm studying Game Art and Design at SCAD currently. Recently took my first Maya class so I figured I would post up my initial work I'm most proud of. I'm a bit nervous...so I hope all goes well. C&C welcome.

Replies

• Uly
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Uly polycounter lvl 17
    hey dude, for your first maya and 3d classes, those are honestly some promising looking texturing skills. (some of your images seem to be broken, the only two I can see is the shack in the hills and the dimly lit japanese teahouse.)

the hills in your first scene are pretty wild looking and incline way too fast in order to pass off as believable. try more gradual curves, looking at photos of what you're trying to recreate, and adjust your scene accordingly.

your second scene has a nice sinister mood to it, but the lighting seems uneven, doesnt blend too well, particularly in the back corner, where one face almost goes pitch black, and then right next to it is a completely different value. maybe you have reference photos that would say otherwise, but just off first glance, the scale looks very off as well. The walls in the scene are making the ground floor, tables and sandles look extremely tiny. It's also hard to believe the blood spatter would be that uniformly distributed on the wall, and be that high in the first place.

it's difficult to get a good look at your scenes because you've taken very claustrophobic shots of your environments. Pull that camera back a bit, up the resolution on your renders, and give us some new shots. :]

there's a lot of room for improvement, and it'll all come in due time as you go through school. Seeing as you've just finished your first maya class, take the critique that you receive here and apply it to your new projects. Stay productive, keep working fast, and share your work with a lot of people! Good luck! :]
  • samcole
    Options