Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

RTS models

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
fredriklars polycounter lvl 13
These are the first models for a RTS game called galactic vice.
I am looking for critiques on concept and execution. I am fairly new to 3d graphics and this is my first ever low poly work so i appreciate tips on basic stuff. Don't hold back on critiques, I intend to get better at this.

ITT, interstellar transmission tower, 1953 triangles. This is the second most important building for terran forces, it is used to order troops and such.
finalmaybe.png

Special forces marine, 532 triangles:
smallmarines.png

I have some questions too, if someone has the time to explain it to a noob.
I'm kinda wondering what the normal workflow would be after making a sketch/concept. Is it best to start with low or high poly?
Making these i kinda jumped back and forth from blender to Photoshop hand painting tons of details so textures are very improvised and unclean, they have become quite horrible to work with. I have a feeling this should be simpler, i mean cracks and such in concrete, are they supposed to be modeled in the high poly version? for these models i have kinda pasted together various normal maps in photoshop to get the fine detail. How does one usually do this?

I get weird distortions when i am baking normal maps, even though i tried baking from an object that has the exact same geometry only different smooth groups i get jagged edges and sometimes inverted z-normal even though i have checked normals for consistency. Is this blender being beta software on me or am I falling into some noob trap?

Replies

• WillMac
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    This slipped to page 5 so am doing my bit and attempting a crit...

Concept usually goes either high then low, low then high or middle base to lo and hi. It depends on the artist and situation with machine specs, it seems.

- I think the radar holder (base) needs some work.