Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Game Art Props

Hi this is my thread where i will show all of the game props i have made and will make. any C&C are welcome to improve my models. I'm not good at texturing so I probrably won't texture any of the models. sorry about huge images.

1. Metal Beam
Polys:288
Tris:524
metalbeam01render.jpg

Replies

• keres
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    keres polycounter lvl 12
    That is way too high poly for a game. You should create a low poly version (which would be like 36 poly) and then bake a normal map for it.

Also, learn texturing. Real 3d artists are also 2d artists :)

Good luck with your endeavors.
    -Tom
  • Fr0stguard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @Keres: The polycount isn't actually 288 for polys it got reduced cause when i looked at the polys there was the UDK collision mesh in it and a duplicate that I accidentaly made of the model. Also I don't know how to texture because i cant find any good texturing tutorials.
  • Rico
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fr0stguard wrote: »
    Also I don't know how to texture because i cant find any good texturing tutorials.

Whaaaaa?? You're just not looking hard enough. There's plenty of them out there, try searching the PC wiki.

Also Eat3D has a couple of really great texturing DVD's.
  • LateWhiteRabbit
    Yeah, 524 tris for a steel I-Beam is just way too many for a game asset. With good maps any heavily rectangular and mechanical piece like this will do just fine with far fewer polygons.

Oh, and telling us separate numbers for polygons and tris isn't necessary - we can do simple math to divide or multiply by two. ;P And you'll find most game artists refer to tris as polys, so when you hear someone say the limit is 2000 polys, etc. always assume they mean tris.