Home General Discussion

windows 7

Ruz
polycount lvl 666
Offline / Send Message
Ruz polycount lvl 666
which version is the minimum I will need. I obviously want to pay as little as possible so was thinking of just getting the home premium edition. will that be ok for doing my work stuff?

Replies

• [Deleted User]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [Deleted User] insane polycounter
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Ruz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666
    ah ok, thanks for the info
  • Grimm_Wrecking
  • Tom Ellis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I recently had to make the same decision, I went for Professional over Home Premium for a few reasons.
    I'm not a Windows expert (was a Mac user for 5 years prior to switching earlier this year), so there may be workarounds to some of these points?

Firstly, no compatibility mode. While there hasn't been a lot of times I've used it, there has certainly been at least 5 occasions where I've had to run something in 'XP Mode', especially old installation/setup files.

Secondly, network backup. This is probably available with 3rd party software, but I find Win7's built in backup system to be pretty good, and backing up to network drives is useful.

Also, be careful if you decide to go for an OEM version. They are a fair bit cheaper, but come with risks. I've got an OEM copy and you have to call up Microsoft every time you want to activate it if you ever need to do a wipe/reinstall, or swap your primary hard drive. They give you a bit of an interrogation as to why you have an OEM copy, and if you didn't buy it with a system, or primary system components (as I did) then you might have trouble getting them to activate it.
  • oXYnary
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oXYnary polycounter lvl 18