Home General Discussion

Going from Film to Game

polycounter lvl 15
Offline / Send Message
Porkpie Samurai polycounter lvl 15
I've been working in film and tv for about 3 years in a few different studios
and am thinking about switching over to games. My main issues with film is that its very much contract centric so you kind of need to be on the look out for the next job every 9 months or so also as a result I feel management doesn't really care about the ever fluctuating team members so long as projects get done on time.
The real reason I'd like to switch is I like the idea of being purely a character artist. Working in film you occasionally get to do a creature/characters but you mostly end up making whatever is needed, environments, props, vehicles which isn't really a bad thing
but it can be grueling.
I'd like to hear from artists that have made the switch and what your thoughts are on changing over to games.

Replies

• glottis8
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    glottis8 polycounter lvl 9
    i started in film as well... it was annoying to have to be jumping from project to project. No job stability. The good thing, is that i got to work on a lot of projects, making my portfolio more attractive. Also... game developers tend to lean on hiring people that have the movie background. So i'm sure you will be fine. Now a days game developers want people that are specialized on one thing only, so you'll be happy if you find work as character artist. :) so good luck on your hunt... do you have any thoughts on were you will be applying?
  • Porkpie Samurai
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks a lot. Very reassuring. I will apply at some studios in Vancouver and then try for montreal I think.
  • Hazardous
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hazardous polycounter lvl 12
    I dont mean to bring you down in any way man, just provide a different perspective!