Home General Discussion

I am completely new to all of this. I would like to learn how to make TF2 item models

Hi guys, my name is completely irrelevant.

I came here because of two reasons.

1. There was the whole "Polycount Contest" for Team Fortress 2.

2. I've heard that this is one of the best sites for people who 3D model.

So, if you're still with me, onto my question.

How do I make models for TF2 items?

I have searched extensively for any sort of tutorial or guide and...I am unable to find one.

I have no experience in making tf2 item models, though I do have a bit of experience in 3d modeling. Now let me start off with my questions.

1. What program do people actually use? I know that this may seem stupid, but I have been completely unable to find even the name of any 3d modeling programs. What does one actually use?

2. Once I have such a program and get started a bit, I'd like some tips, or guides possibly on how to make items. I'd like to make something!

I have been told about Maya, Blender, and Milk Shape. Personally, I used Autodesk 3D inventor for a bit which I know how to use pretty well now. I don't really know how I would take the file from any of these programs and turn it into what Valve wants.

So...uhm...yes. I am completely unaware of any of this. I would truly appreciate all of the help that any of you could provide me with. I am completely new to this, I am a noob, and I require your assistance.

Thank you in advance for any help that you can give me! :)

Replies

• eld
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    eld polycounter lvl 18
    Hi and welcome mr. Completely Irrelevant.

If I may ask, how many years are you willing to commit, how far are you planning to take it?
  • adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    adam polycounter lvl 19