Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Learning how to bake in Max

As the title implies, I'm a student learning 3ds Max. I'm learning how to take the details from a high poly model and bake them onto a low poly model. I've never posted on Polycount before, but I visit this website often and regard it as an honest and true test of one's abilities as a game artist.
With that in mind, here is an image of my high poly mesh along with the reference photo that I worked from (I'm not familiar with Polycount's interface, so I hope I uploaded the image properly). I am currently working on the low poly will begin the baking process soon. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Replies

• Fomori
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fomori polycounter lvl 12
    Looks alright so far. What the hell is it?
  • maxivz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    maxivz interpolator
    Portable Jet?
    Dont know what it is, but good work ;)
  • jimmypopali
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I think it's one of those high powered portable heaters. I've used one before, those bastards are hot!

Looking good.
  • d_woo77
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LOL. To be honest, I'm not sure what it is myself. I did a search for an industrial heater and this caught my eye. I can't imagine what its used for. I was looking for something manageable for this assignment and the simple cylindrical shapes was easy enough to make.
  • d_woo77
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving. :)