Home Technical Talk

Hard Surface Sculpting: Max to Mudbox

Hey everbady!
This is probably something I can search for (but don't usually get good results based on the wording), but I'm working on an environment piece that I've blocked out in Max and want to bring into Mudbox to sculpt on. Is there any good tutorials on the most effective way to do this or even on the typical pipeline used to do hard surface sculpts? Perhaps this particular project might work out better if it wasn't done in Mudbox, any opinions you guys have would be very helpful :)

This is what I'm working on:
hrRofboIMiNvH01fwJ7JOo%3D

This is what it looks like coming into Mudbox:
blugh.jpg

Obviously it's having issues with my edge loops and smoothing, which I know how to (tediously) fix, but it seems like if I have to fix all those edge loops in Max, I might as well just make the high poly there and what's the purpose of sculpting?

Sorry if this is a dumb question, I'm kinda new to the whole high poly pipeline but definitely want to figure it out.

Replies

• nick2730
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    can you show the wireframe for your building. Mudbox is tries to subdivide the mesh itself, you need to add edgeloops and support edges to your mesh to control how it will subdivide in max and maintain your shape. Basically apply a turbosmooth modify inside of max, and thats how mudbox will sub-d
  • CuddlyColin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I figured I just needed to add edge loops. I'm more asking, what's a common pipeline for this sort of work? I've gotten to this point and feel like I maybe should have been creating a high poly mesh in max instead of a low poly to sculpt later?

The only experience I have with mudbox and zbrush is pure sculpting, which works on shapes that you don't mind being smooth (like humans forms) but, obviously, doesn't work the same way when you bring in something you want to keep the edges of.