Home General Discussion

Studying for a Work Visa

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Steve Schulze polycounter lvl 18
Oh, look it's another "duh... should I go to tertiary school" thread. But wait, before you sigh and move on, this one is a little bit different to the norm.

We all know that university degrees are of very little value in getting a job in the industry. Acquiring a visa to work in another country is another story though. The general consensus is that you need either a degree (or masters in some cases) or ten years experience in your chosen field before they'll consider you for a working visa. That's how I understand it anyway.

Now me, I have two thirds of the most worthless multimedia design degree imaginable. I have a diploma from a generally well respected games development college. I have about six years games development experience. I'm at a point where, with the local industry in a shambles and likely to get worse as the price of the Australian dollar keeps on creeping further ahead of the US dollar, it makes sense to at least consider going back to school get the necessary qualifications to work in Europe or the US. I'd imagine I'd be able to skip a year or two with my previous education and industry experiences.

I'd like to get some opinions on any of this. You're not by any means the only folks I'm consulting about this, but I'm sure many of you are likely to have some useful thoughts. Good idea? Bad Idea? Personal experiences trying to work abroad? Or going back to school?

Cheers guys.

Replies

• Tom Ellis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm not in the industry, but I did go back to school when I was 22;

One person who may be able to help you out with this is Catstyle, he's a UK resident who just got a job over in California and is therefore presumably quite familiar with the visa process.