Home General Discussion

Can I get into junior (entry-level) character artist?

[FONT=&#48148]Hello fellow artists. I’m a beginner character artist. Recently I applied several game companies for junior character artist job. I couldn’t receive an answer to my letter. My family live in the Washington. Because I don't want to move to other state, Most of the time I sent my portfolio to game companies in WA area. [/FONT]

[FONT=&#48148]I would like to hear your advice. Here are my questions.[/FONT]

1. [FONT=&#48148]Can I get into Junior (entry-level) Character Artist position with my art skills[/FONT]

2. [FONT=&#48148]If not which skills I have to improve more, and why?[/FONT]

3. [FONT=&#48148]This is going to be my first game artist job, am I looking at the wrong position?[/FONT]

4. [FONT=&#48148]Although I went to local college for Animation & Game Design Program, 90% of my art skill by self-taught. 2D skills took 2 year and 3D skills took 1 year. I hear there is Futurepoly in WA area. Should I take some class at Futurepoly or keep doing self-taught?[/FONT]

5. [FONT=&#48148]Do you have any advice for beginner character artist?[/FONT]

[FONT=&#48148]Thank you for reading my questions. Your advice will really help me out![/FONT]

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

[FONT=바탕]Thank you for all you guys advice[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]Here are my 2 solutions. I would like to hear what you guys think. Which solution do you recommend?[/FONT]

[FONT=바탕]Solution 1[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]-Retouch all my old model, textures, and drawing[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]-make poses all my old 3d characters[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]-create 3d environment using popular game’s concept[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]-Make new anatomy and figure drawings[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]-Create new portfolio site[/FONT]

[FONT=바탕]Solution 2[/FONT]
[FONT=바탕]-Create my new original concept art for character, weapon, vehicle, and (small size) environment[/FONT]