Home General Discussion

Simulations/Serious Games artists?

*Been lurking here a while, decided to join and get busy. TBH it took longer to think of an appropriate subject for the thread than to type this message.

I'm transitioning from the army to job making serious games and sims for the military. I've been working with 3ds Max for 12 years now, but I'm only about 2 years into environmental modeling/texturing.

Just a quick question, are there other guys like me here now?

Replies

• PeterK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PeterK greentooth
    I did this for a few years at Breakaway games.
  • oXYnary
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oXYnary polycounter lvl 18
    http://www.seriousgames.org/

More interested in its sub area. G4C (Games 4 Change). What I create currently though is standard entertainment ware.
  • Sean VanGorder
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I got a job a couple months ago working at TerraSim making simulation software for the military and private contracts.
  • MagicSugar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MagicSugar polycounter lvl 10
    Realm wrote: »
    Just a quick question, are there other guys like me here now?

If anybody can get on a simdev who's pretty good at getting Defense contracts...you can coast the rest the of recession.

Boring as heck though and you probably can find busy contractors in places like...Alabama.

Can't say anymore though...loose lips sink ships and all that :)
  • tanka
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    tanka polycounter lvl 12
    I do. It's a bit tedious at times with the content, but it can also be pretty cool.

I couldn't have really asked for a better first 3D job, especially in the current climate of the industry.
  • Ahrkey
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ahrkey polycounter lvl 18
    I work for a company that is involved in military applications and simulators.