Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Pirate Town Set

Hey everybody! I am a student in my postgrad year. I am currently working on a Caribbean pirate town to hopefully export into the Unreal engine. Here are some pics of my progress. Feedback welcome!

Quick concepts:

paint_tavern.jpg
paint_house.jpg
paint_gate.jpg

Screen shots of some of the assets:

crows_nest_texture.jpg

Gate_Textures-1.jpg

Gate_Wire.jpg

tavern_texture-1.jpg

Tavern_Wire.jpg

Replies

• SarahFaber
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here is a layout of the scene:

Scene_layout.jpg

Here are some screen grabs from max:

Scene_Shot_1.jpg

Scene_Shot_3.jpg

Scene_Shot_2.jpg

Right now I'm working on the outer environment. Will hopefully have an update of that soon.
  • Shogun3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shogun3d polycounter lvl 12
    Other than the concepts, what kind of references are you using and texture sizes?
  • vcortis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    vcortis polycounter lvl 9
    This all looks really low poly. What type of platform are you doing this for?

Also texel density seems off on a lot of stuff. Make sure you're projecting a 512x512 texture for every 6 meters in unreal.

I'd slow it down and take your time on really polishing a few pieces up so you have a better idea of where you want to take the piece. What you have now is good for layout purposes and whitebox, but you should really go back in and improve upon what you have (unless this is being made for an i-phone or top down rts or something).
  • SarahFaber
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    General consensus has been more polys.

I've never used unreal before, but I'm trying to read up on it as much as possible. If you have any useful links or anything that would be great. The point of this project is to build something for next semester to play around with it in unreal.