Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] - Jessy De Lannoit

The Wanderer
polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
The Wanderer polycounter lvl 12
www.jessydelannoit.com

Hi, I'm looking for critic on my portfolio, but more specifically on the work I display (f.e. i'm unsure of displaying my unfinished work on it). I'm also looking for an internship position (i'm following a game development university course in Belgium named Digital Arts & Entertainment).

Thanks

Replies

• Snex
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey, welcome to the forums.

I'm by no means a professional, still in uni and my artowrk is around your level. The thing I noticed first was your grammar. Specifically:

"I made this as an assignment for school to create a current gen concrete pole which had a hole in it. I quite like the end results even though it is a simplistic model."

Try being more direct and really focus on what you want to say. Remember KISS
    (keep it simple stupid) is usually better than rambling on.
    Something like "Created a current gen prop to test my photo-realistic texturing skills." is what I would say.

Another thing that also grabbed my attention was the topology of your rocks. You obviously sculpted them in mudbox/zbrush then used a poly reducing tool. In my experience employers would rather see you do your own optimization rather than using a tool. I understand its a static mesh and has no deformation, but one of your first jobs in the industry will be optimizing other peoples meshes.

just my 2 cents, enjoy.
  • The Wanderer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yea, thanks for the feedback. Will change it.
  • PredatorGSR
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PredatorGSR polycounter lvl 14
    Your work looks very solid. I'd like to see more work with a little more polish and baked down from a high poly. I don't think you'll have a problem getting to that level with a little more practice.