Home General Discussion

Stresses, should I just give up or keep on going?

Hello everyone,

I have been plucking away for a couple few years at computer graphics. I have a two year degree in computer animation, but feel like I should know much more than I do. Some people just seem to get it faster, and I have to fight myself to get better. I always have procrastinators fear with projects. I have to make myself do them, as I feel overwhelmed. Right now I am in a studio arts major New Media. I love a mix of technical and creative and this was supposed to be what this major offered. My last class was kinetic art and I had to teach myself about ir sensors arduino programming and soldering, hard but interesting. The New Media program I'm in has now changed and it is now cultural art and more studio, less technical. They now want a portfolio and the portfolio I have is not really very culturally motivated. I have character models that I made after writing a story for them, and nothing too abstract or cultural. I have a project that I did for my class and it has numerous models, dynamics, environment, animation, lighting, and my teacher has told the class, me in particular that if our project is not as arty as he wants that it can be phenomenal and still fail. I am so stressed. I wonder daily what the heck I am doing and if I have enough talent to make more that 8.50 an hour doing retail(yuck). I work, take five classes, maintain a deans list grade point and I am tired. My teacher has already mentioned that I might not be the right fit for a New Media Arts degree. Good lord should I just try to get my Comptia A+ and say the heck with it.
Everyone have a great day.

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I totally hear you. I've been there before, but it can get better! :)