Home General Discussion

Entry Level Graphics Tablet

Hi guys,

Apologies in advanced if there is a topic for this. I did search but couldn't find any! Although I have been modelling for a couple of years now, I am still at a basic level. I am looking to get a graphics tablet to help with 3d modelling in max and zbrush etc. Can anyone recommend an affordable entry level graphics tablet?

I was Looking at spending a maximum of £60, so I was looking at the Wacom Bamboo:

[ame]http://www.amazon.co.uk/Wacom-Bamboo-Pen-Graphics-Tablet/dp/B002Q4U4AE/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1289826275&sr=8-2[/ame]

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

Replies

• easterislandnick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    easterislandnick polycounter lvl 17
    The bamboo would be fine, as would a second hand Graphire from Wacom. Don't touch any other brand though, I have used a Trust tablet and it was shockingly bad. I used a Graphire for years (pretty much the same as a bamboo) and it was great.
  • leslievdb
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    leslievdb polycounter lvl 15
    Wacom Bamboo's are great to start out with.
    I just bought myself a new one 2 weeks ago and i've been using it every day now almost forgetting i got a cintiq 12wx standing around somewhere :p.

I've always liked the bamboo tablets , i think they are the ideal size to work on and are great when it comes to portability.
    Maybe it's personal preference but i hate working on those A4 or A3 intuos tablets they are way too big imo.
  • Ewaf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the prompt reply! Yea the impression I have gathered so far is that Wacom seems to be the most preferred. Couple of questions, the advantages of using a tablet for zbrush is pretty obvious, but how is it utilised in a modelling program like max? Camera control or?

Cheers!
  • Snowfly
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snowfly polycounter lvl 18