Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] – Lewis Labram - Environment Artist

invaderZim
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
invaderZim polycounter lvl 6
Hi everybody,

I graduated from uni earlier this year and I’m looking to become an environment artist. I’ve been on this site quite a lot reading the feedback given by the members on other people’s portfolios and work. I’ve decided that my own portfolio is finally ready to be torn to pieces.

Please can you take some time to look over and critique the assets I’ve created.

Here it is: http://lewislabram.carbonmade.com/

The site does not contain "all" my work, but it contains what I think is the best of my work, so for what its worth, it might as well be "all" my work!

Thanks in advance!

Lewis

Replies

• jimmypopali
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'd probably just check a few things with the first 3D peice.
    The corner of the chimney. The bricks are totally different where they are going around the corner. Very obvious seam. Also, I think that texture overall is very bright compared to the rest of the scene. For such a basic part of the scene, with not much detail at all, it seems to be the main focus point - where everybody's eye goes to first. It's lit pretty nicely though.

Since the top environment is lit nicely, it seems that the alley-way street scene is not lit at all. For the sun to be behind the tree and through the leaves, I'd say it would be a good opportunity to get some interesting light, shadows or even some light beams around.
  • vofff
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    vofff polycounter lvl 10
    I can see your 3D part is stronger than your 2D, I recommend you skip your 2D category I wouldnt post them if I got few good critz from somebody else.
  • invaderZim
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey thanks guys, I’ve realised I’m not trying to become a 2d artist, so I’ve removed the 2d section as suggested.